Dear “Autism Parents”,

What many of those without autism fail to realize. Excellent points by an amazing blogger.

Just Stimming...

I want to clear a couple of things up.

1.

I don’t have autism. I am autistic. This is important to me. It also doesn’t mean that I “see myself as a disability first and a person second,” whatever that is supposed to mean. In my eyes, I’m Julia. Just Julia.

I cannot separate out which parts of me brain are wired because baby I was born this way and which parts of my brain should be marked off as AUTISM. Nor do I particularly care, to be honest. I am Julia, and a significant fraction of Julia is autism (and thus, via the transitive property, I am autism but that’s not the point). Am I a writer because I’m Julia, or because I’m autistic? My writing is good in its own right, I am told, and it’s also fundamentally shaped by my neurology–just like yours. I like

View original post 2,015 more words

3 thoughts on “Dear “Autism Parents”,

  1. I just found your blog and THANK YOU. I was just diagnosed 3 months ago and I am 41 years old. I live near Vancouver, Canada. I have struggled all my life, (as you well know, I’m sure). You speak on very relevant issues and I very much appreciate your insight and clear communication. I am especially moved by your thoughts on helping Autistic adults. I would also love to someday become a counselor for Autistic adults. Due to my massive Executive Functioning Disability I don’t know if this will ever happen though. For now, my contribution is a Facebook page called “Confessions of an Autistic Mom”. Hopefully through this page I can help bring awareness of what Autistic adults look like in real life. Resources for Adults are SO needed.

    • I have liked your page 🙂 Thanks for sharing. I truly believe that the only way things will change for us is if we begin changing them. A facebook page is definitely a great way to advocate! 🙂

Leave a Reply

